Youjo Senki – First impressions

Give me a blonde, a rifle and the ability to fly and I’ll give you a one man army ! 

youjo-senki-01-large-12

An alternate world war 1 where troops posses magic and boots allowing them to fly, eye candy right. Second Lieutenant Tanya Degrechaff, a mage in the army of the empire also known as 「ラインの悪魔」 (Rain no akuma) – The Devil of the Rhine is our main character and the blondie whom I was refering to. There’s isn’t much to talk about in this first episode, no background on the ongoing war nor the characters, till now characters seem driven by war only with no other clear purpose.

I enjoyed the visual aspects very much, they did a great job bringing out the dark devastating atmosphere of battlefields. It’s too early to judge the show in terms of plot and characters, I’ll just have to wait and see what next week brings.

Leave a comment